Some wishes

Some wishes

Postby RJA4000 » Wed Oct 02, 2019 5:01 pm

Hi

I thought I'd add a few wishes here

1. Editable (or, at least, readable) .psf file

2. In generator, allow to change the Unit of measurement for level
I'd like to be able to chose between, as an example, V, dBFS, %

3. A DDP for number of averaged samples
to be able to take the measure with automation without having to "guess" when it's averaged as wished

4. Allow Sum (average) of A+B channels as an input for FFT

5. Allow to select in ADC/DAC devices list and set up automatically all parameters (including calibration) from there

...
RJA4000
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 2:28 am

Re: Some wishes

Postby RJA4000 » Mon Oct 21, 2019 4:01 pm

6. Allow auto-aligning, sizing of DDP boxes

7. Allow change of title font (font size) for DDP boxes

8. Add a button to display/hide Channel A or B from Spectrum analyzer display, without having to re-measure

...
RJA4000
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 2:28 am

Re: Some wishes

Postby VirtinsTech » Tue Oct 22, 2019 2:00 pm

Thank you for the suggestions.

1. See the previous reply.

2. Already exists
dBV, dBFS, or dBu unit display in parallel with the unit display of V is already provided at the bottom of the inner pair of vertical scrollbars on the signal generator panel. Click the displayed text to change the displayed unit.

3. A DDP named "Number of Frames" will be added.

4. will be provided.

5.[Setting]>[Restore to Factory Default] is already provided for this purpurse. For sound cards, currently only calibration settings for one sound card can be saved. Other ADC/DAC devices come calibrated and no additional calibration setting is required.

6.Already provided via:
(1) [Window]>[Cascade],[Tile Horizontally] or [Tile Vertically]
(2) [Setting]>[Display]>"Auto Layout After Loading a Panel Setting File">"Nil","Tile Horizontally", "Tile Vertically" . "Nil" means to keep the layout in PSF.

7. The font size in the window title bar can be configured through windows control panel.

8. Already provided.
Right click the oscilloscope/spectrum analyzer/spectrum 3D Plot window and select "Display Ch. A only", "Display Ch. B only", or "Display all". These commands actually use the "Off" option in "A Range" and "B Range" selection boxes of each graph window (see the respective view toolbar at the bottom of the screen) to do the task.
VirtinsTech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Some wishes

Postby RJA4000 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:07 pm

Hi
Thanks for your answer :-)

VirtinsTech wrote:1. See the previous reply.

What about read only ?

VirtinsTech wrote:2. Already exists
dBV, dBFS, or dBu unit display in parallel with the unit display of V is already provided at the bottom of the inner pair of vertical scrollbars on the signal generator panel. Click the displayed text to change the displayed unit.

I know I can change the displayed unit.
My question is: Couldn't we have a flexible unit to enter the Output Amplitude value ?
Every time I want to set the signal generator to, say, -2.5dBFS, I have to translate that back in V.
If I could enter directly dBFS or dBu (or %), that would help me... and make the screen capture more readable.

VirtinsTech wrote:3. A DDP named "Number of Frames" will be added.
4. will be provided.

Thanks !

VirtinsTech wrote:5.[Setting]>[Restore to Factory Default] is already provided for this purpurse. For sound cards, currently only calibration settings for one sound card can be saved. Other ADC/DAC devices come calibrated and no additional calibration setting is required.

So my request should be labeled:
May we save several settings for one sound card, where calibration would vary, by just selecting it from the DAC or ADC device list ?

VirtinsTech wrote:6.Already provided via:
(1) [Window]>[Cascade],[Tile Horizontally] or [Tile Vertically]
(2) [Setting]>[Display]>"Auto Layout After Loading a Panel Setting File">"Nil","Tile Horizontally", "Tile Vertically" . "Nil" means to keep the layout in PSF.

OK, but the "Tile" functionality has a big drawback:
My panel settings look like this

Before_Tile.jpg
Before_Tile.jpg (208.67 KiB) Viewed 557 times


but after Tile, I get this

After_Tile.jpg
After_Tile.jpg (201.29 KiB) Viewed 557 times


VirtinsTech wrote:7. The font size in the window title bar can be configured through windows control panel.

Indeed

VirtinsTech wrote:8. Already provided.
Right click the oscilloscope/spectrum analyzer/spectrum 3D Plot window and select "Display Ch. A only", "Display Ch. B only", or "Display all". These commands actually use the "Off" option in "A Range" and "B Range" selection boxes of each graph window (see the respective view toolbar at the bottom of the screen) to do the task.

Of course ! Sorry.
RJA4000
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 2:28 am


Return to Wish Lists

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron